Volta a Catalunya: Recent Winners

Nairo Quintana 2016 CatalunyaThe Volta a Catalunya is a stage race dating back to 1911 and held in March, just after Paris-Nice and the Tirreno-Adriatico. The menu offers a mixture of sprint stages and mountain stages, whilst time trials are rare in recent years. Cyclingstage.com brings you the recent winners along with the records. (Slideshow route/profile)

Recent winners Volta a Catalunya

2016: Nairo Quintana (col)
2015: Richie Porte (aus)
2014: Joaquim Rodríguez (spa)
2013: Daniel Martin (irl)
2012: Michael Albasini (swi)
2011: Alberto Contador (spa)
2010: Joaquim Rodríguez (spa)
2009: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2008: Gustavo César Veloso (spa)
2007: Vladimir Karpets (rus)
2006: David Cañada (spa)
2005: Jaroslav Popovitsj (ukr)
2004: Miguel Perdiguero (spa)
2003: José Antonio Pecharroman (spa)
2002: Roberto Heras (spa)
2001: Joseba Beloki (spa)
2000: José María Jiménez (spa)

Records in the Volta a Catalunya
Spaniards have won 58 out of all 84 editions and therefore it is not surprising a Spaniard holds the record of most victories. In the period 1928-1939 Mariano Cañardo was the ruthless ruler with eight wins. After him Miguel Indurain came closest with three victories.

Of the riders who are still in the peloton Joaquim Rodriguez is the most successful. The Catalan pocketed two GC wins.

If we are talking stage-wins Miguel Poblet is in a class of his own. From 1947 to 1960 he took 33 stages.

Volta a Catalunya: Height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom.

Joaquim RodriguezAlberto ContadorDaniel MartinNairo QuintanaRichie PorteAlejandro ValverdeSamuel Sánchez

Leave a comment
Log on with Facebook

No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.
Related articles
Volta a Catalunya 2017 Route stage 2: TTT in Banyoles Volta a Catalunya 2017 Route stage 3: Mataró - La Molina Volta a Catalunya 2017 Route stage 5: Valls - Lo Port (Tortosa)
More articles